Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for May 21st, 2009

A happy/funny update.  GirlHead and Hellboy both have lung/sinus/ear infections.  Typical kid diseases.  The girl has been saying “I’m trying not to cough.”

Now, I know she’s trying in her own sweet-natured way to be polite, but I had to make sure she knew it was OK to cough.  I told her “I better hear some coughing in there.  I command you to cough!  Heck, one time your mother coughed so hard she coughed up her toes… and then her toenails, and then her shoes!”

She says “Daaaaa-aaaad.”

Later, Cruel Wife comes in and says quietly that GirlHead asked her:  “Mom, did you really cough up your toes?”

****

Okayyyyy… (there’s a lot more information if you follow the link)

Obese Woman Dragged From Home, Hauled Away After Death

The Marion County Coroner’s Office has come under fire after it was revealed that an obese woman was dragged from her home and hauled away on a trailer in front of family members following her death.  Teresa Smith, 48, who weighed 750 pounds, died Tuesday in her apartment on Indianapolis’ northeast side.  Officials at the scene told 6News’ Jack Rinehart that the deputy coroner made the decision to call a towing service to remove the body from the home.

It is tempting, but the coroner is still going to have to face the music.

****

Note:  An Astute Reader has informed me that *I* may be in the wrong here.  While it is *technically* possible I could be wrong, I still have to argue that it is highly unlikely because my ego would never allow me to make an error, and also the point could be made that a reporter’s job is to report – that is, communicate in an effective manner, which hasn’t quite happened here.

All right, lets do some addition.  In the panicky article titled “US Swine Flu Deaths Hit Double Digits”  (TEN, which is a ginormous shift of ten percent from yesterday’s NINE deaths).

Swine flu has sickened more than 10,000 people in 41 countries and killed 80, according to the World Health Organization, whose figures often lag those of individual countries. Mexico has reported 75 deaths, the U.S. 10, and one in both Canada and Costa Rica.

“Killed 80” the article says.  Then says Mexico has 75, the US 10, and Canada and Costa Rica 1 death each.

75 + 10 + 1 + 1 = 80

Last time I checked 87 did not equal 80.  I’d say “Oh, well, reporters focus on getting grammar, spelling, punctuation, and facts right rather than worry about math” … but I can’t.

****

You mean minorities can be racist, too?

A Latino street gang waged a racist campaign to eliminate the city’s black residents through attempted murders and other crimes, according to federal racketeering indictments unsealed Thursday.

Read Full Post »